At the recent Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) Annual Meeting, it was announced that the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork will no longer be offering or accepting licensure exam applications as of November 1, 2014, and will cease offering licensure exams effective February 1, 2015. These exams used for licensing include the:
Alaska House Bill 328 was signed by Governor Parnell on August 11, 2014, and is now the law in Alaska. The law requires that all massage therapists practicing in Alaska must have a state-issued massage license.
The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Affiliated Credentialing Board has announced that beginning with the license renewal period that starts on March 1, 2015, each Massage Therapist/Bodywork Therapist must complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE), including two hours of ethics, to renew a license. License renewal periods run from March 1 of every odd-numbered year to February 28 of the next odd-numbered year. This means that you must complete the required 24 hours of CE by February 28, 2017.
AB 1147 was signed into law by Governor Brown on September 18, 2014. The bill authorizes the continuation of statewide voluntary certification for massage therapists by the California Massage Therapy Council. In addition the bill does the following:
- Reauthorizes the California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC) organization until 1/1/2017.