Continuing Education Now Required for Licensure for Massage Therapists in Hawaii

Senate Bill 599 (SB 599) passed this legislative session and became law on June 25, 2021, per Governor Message No. 1204.
Beginning July 1, 2024, and every biennial renewal thereafter, SB 599 requires massage therapy licensees to complete 12 hours of continuing education within the two-year period preceding the renewal date. Two of the 12 hours must include first aid, CPR, or other emergency-related training.
Massage therapists must fill out an application form to submit proof of their continuing education upon renewal between May 1 and June 30 in their renewal year.
The statute does not stipulate whether the CE must be completed live or online. The Hawaii Board of Massage Therapy (Board) is currently working on rules relating to continuing education requirements and standards, and ABMP will be involved in the process. If you would like to attend the next Board meeting, you can join virtually on August 11, 2021, at 9:30 a.m. HST. Here is a link to the meeting with Zoom information:

In the meantime, know that our ABMP Education Center is available to you with 200+ free continuing education courses. We will keep you updated as we learn more.

If you have questions or concerns, email us at