Your massage therapy board may be in trouble! There is a recommendation to consolidate the Board of Massage Therapy with the Board of Chiropractic, the Board of Respiratory Care, and the Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy. We strongly encourage you to elevate your voice and submit comments before September 6 to show your opposition to, or support of, the massage therapy board consolidation proposal.
Iowa Legislative and Policy Developments
Dept of Public Health: Board of Massage Therapy
Lucas State Office Building, 5th Floor
321 E 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours, and MBLEx or NCETMB
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years
Min 8 hours hands-on
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
The Iowa Board of Massage Therapy adopted a new continuing education (CE) rule that affects hands-on and online CE renewal requirements effective May 24, 2023.
The Iowa Board of Massage Therapy adopted new rules that require massage therapists who treat children and dependent adults to complete mandatory reporter training.
Learn how this may affect your continuing education requirements and submit comments before December 6, 2022.
The Iowa Board of Massage Therapy (Board) is proposing new rules that would require massage therapists who treat children and dependent adults to complete mandatory reporter training. Submit your commentary to the Board by November 8, 2022.
The Iowa Board of Massage Therapy adopted new massage therapy rules that impact the following sections: definitions, licensure by examination, qualifications for foreign applicants, and license display requirements. The new rules will be effective August 17, 2022.
House File 2168 adds massage therapists to the list of persons required to report child and dependent adult abuse and will now be required to complete training on this subject as a condition of licensure effective July 1, 2022.
Licensees who received waivers have until September 23, 2021, to renew—after that date they must reactivate their licenses. For those renewing an active license by December 31, 2021, submit your obtained 16 hours of CE. Those renewing after December 31, 2021, will need eight hours of in-person CE.
On June 2, 2020, the Iowa Board of Massage Therapy adopted a new rule change effective August 19, 2020, that revises the mandatory training requirements for child and dependent adult abuse reporting.
In Iowa, House File 188 (HF188), has been introduced to remove the licensure requirement for massage therapists. It also expands the current law to penalize an individual or business who advertises or represents an unlicensed individual as being licensed.