Washington

Dept of Health: Massage Therapist
PO Box 47877
Olympia, WA 98504-7877
Phone: 360-236-4700
Fax: 360-236-4818
Email: hpqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapists
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB. After Sept 1, 2021: 625 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB.
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
Max 12 hours online
Min 8 hours hands-on
4 hours of ethics or WA law

Regulation Type: 
State License

Washington Adopts New Massage Therapy Rules

The Washington Board of Massage revised the Washington Administrative Code in August 2020. The rules are now final and are effective September 1, 2021. The rules amend definitions, the out-of-state application process, transfer programs, school approval, training hours, faculty, continuing education, standards of practice, and recordkeeping. They also create a new section on gluteal cleft and perineum massage.

Proposed Revised Massage Rules in WA

The following information was emailed to our Washington State members on July 5:

The Washington Department of Health in conjunction with the Board of Massage is considering revisions to the state massage therapy rules. The revisions would increase the required educational hours for massage licensure from 500 to 625, and would also make changes to the continuing education rules and the rules regarding breast massage. Click below to review the proposed rules:

Draft WAC 246-830-430 Training 

Draft WAC 246-830-475 Continuing education 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Washington