Due to COVID-19’s Delta variant, vaccines will be required for all health-care providers working in health-care settings by September 30, 2021. The Oregon Board of Massage Therapy indicated that this may not apply to those that work in spas or private practices.
State Board of Massage Therapists
610 Hawthorne Ave SE, Suite 220
Salem, OR 97301
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 625 hours, and MBLEx or NCETMB
Renewal: 25 hours/2 years
1 hr CE: pain management
1 hr CE: cultural competency
15 contact hours required
(can include online if interactive)
Governor Brown announced that due to COVID-19’s Delta variant, vaccines will be required for all health-care providers, including massage therapists, who work in health-care settings.
The Oregon State Board of Massage Therapists voted to extend the waiver that removes late fees for license renewals and to keep continuing education requirements at the statutorily required 12 hours to assist licensed massage therapists during the transition into a post-COVID-19 working environment.
There is currently one vacancy for a licensed massage therapist on the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists (OBMT). The OBMT has requested ABMP nominate three qualified candidates for their review.
Information regarding Oregon's back-to-practice permission date and safety guidelines to minimize risk of exposure to and spread of COVID-19 in the workplace.
The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists (OBMT) is proposing changes to the continuing education (CE) rules for massage therapists. The proposed changes include reducing the required number of CE hours from 25 to 12 hours bi-annually, among other changes. The CE proposals will be addressed at the regular OBMT Board meeting on September 17, 2018. Click here for the draft rules containing the CE proposals (scroll to page 13).
Several changes to Oregon's massage therapy rules are going into effect on January 1, 2017. The changes which impact massage therapists the most are two additions to the disciplinary rules stating that the following acts constitute violations of the disciplinary rules:
Changes to Oregon Continuing Education Rules
The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists recently adopted changes to the state’s continuing education (CE) rules. These changes go into effect on July 1, 2016. All licensees renewing their licenses on or after July 1, 2016, must have fulfilled these CE requirements when they renew, unless they are renewing their license for the first time.
Oregon SB 298, discussed in our previous Legislative Update, was signed into law by Governor Brown on June 18, 2015, with certain important changes over the original version of the bill.
In general, the new law regulates massage and bodywork practitioners in same manner as current law with a few changes; changes which should have little effect on current Oregon licensees. The new law goes into effect January 1, 2016.
A new bill, Oregon SB 298, has been introduced in the Oregon Senate that proposes to regulate bodywork practitioners in same manner that Oregon law currently regulates massage therapists. Under the bill, those practicing bodywork would be required to obtain a state license, just as massage practitioners are currently required to do. “Bodywork” is defined in the bill as: “any form of touch therapy that uses manipulation, movement, energy or repatterning to produce structural and functional c