New York Assembly Bill 9259

New York Assembly Bill 9259 was signed into law by Governor Cuomo on December 17, 2014. Under the new law, a massage therapist who holds a massage license in another state does not need to have a New York State massage license in order to teach the hands on portion of a CE course in New York, as long as the CE course (1) is taught in connection with a CE program that is conducted by a New York State-approved CE sponsor, and (2) pertains to a modality that falls within New York's scope of practice for massage.

New Background Check Requirement for All Florida-Licensed Massage Therapists

A new law was passed in Florida this year, s.456.0135, F.S, which imposes new background check requirements on massage therapists.  Under the new law, all Florida-licensed massage therapists who received their license prior to July 1, 2014 must complete a criminal background check prior to January 31, 2015 Massage therapists who have certain types of felony offenses in their records (ex

Wisconsin Continuing Education Requirement

The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Affiliated Credentialing Board has announced that beginning with the license renewal period that starts on March 1, 2015, each Massage Therapist/Bodywork Therapist must complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE), including two hours of ethics, to renew a license. License renewal periods run from March 1 of every odd-numbered year to February 28 of the next odd-numbered year. This means that you must complete the required 24 hours of CE by February 28, 2017.


Subscribe to RSS - News