Skip to main content


Department of Public Health
Massage Therapy Licensure
410 Capitol Ave, MS #12 APP
PO Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134
Phone: 860-509-7603
Fax: 860-707-1982

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 750 hours, and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/4 years

New Massage Therapy Management Requirements in Connecticut

House Bill No. 6666 passed this legislative session and requires every business that employs a massage therapist to be under the management of a licensed massage therapist, hairdresser, cosmetician, esthetician, eyelash technician, or nail technician.

Connecticut COVID-19 Update Permission to Practice June 17, 2020

Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont announced Phase 2 of Reopen Connecticut, allowing businesses offering personal services to resume operations June 17, 2020, including day spas, estheticians, waxing, massage therapy, nail technicians, and eyelash technicians.

New Law in Connecticut Establishes Criminal Penalties

On June 26, 2009, Governor Rell signed House Bill 5883 into law. The new law, An Act Concerning The Unlicensed Practice of Massage Therapy, makes it a Class C misdemeanor for anyone to engage in the practice of massage therapy or use the title "massage therapist" without a license from the state Department of Public Health. Such a misdemeanor is punishable by up to three months in prison and a fine of up to $500.

The bill goes into effect on October 1, 2009. It does not affect licensed massage therapists.


The Governor Rell signed Senate Bill 140 into law on May 22, 2007. The bill addresses two issues related to the Massage Therapy Practice Act: