Washington Legislative and Policy Developments

Washington

Dept of Health: Massage Therapist
PO Box 47877
Olympia, WA 98504-7877
Phone: 360-236-4700
Fax: 360-236-4818
Email: hpqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapists
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB. After Sept 1, 2021: 625 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB.
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
Max 12 hours online
Min 8 hours hands-on
4 hours of ethics or WA law

Regulation Type: 
State License

Advocacy Home

Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.

Washington Adopts New Massage Therapy Rules

The Washington Board of Massage revised the Washington Administrative Code in August 2020. The rules are now final and are effective September 1, 2021. The rules amend definitions, the out-of-state application process, transfer programs, school approval, training hours, faculty, continuing education, standards of practice, and recordkeeping. They also create a new section on gluteal cleft and perineum massage.

Washington Increases Massage Therapy Training Hours to 625

The Washington Board of Massage revised the Washington Administrative Code (WAC) in August 2020. The new rules increase the minimum number of education and training hours from 500 to 625 hours. The new rules are effective September 1, 2021.

Washington House Bill 1082

HB 1082 would require all licensed massage therapists and certified reflexologists to carry a government-issued photo identification with them at all times when practicing.

Update on Proposed Revised Massage Rules in WA

The Washington Board of Massage continues to work on new massage therapy rule language.  The rules writing process is open to the public, and the public is welcome to take part in helping the Board write rules. Draft rules language is available on the Board's Rules in Progress webpage.

Pages