The Washington Board of Massage (Board) and the Department of Health and Health Systems Quality Assurance Division are now accepting applications to fill the seat for the public member position.
Washington Legislative and Policy Developments
Dept of Health: Massage Therapist
PO Box 47877
Olympia, WA 98504-7877
Title: Licensed Massage Therapists
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB. After Sept 1, 2021: 625 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB.
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
Max 12 hours online
Min 8 hours hands-on
4 hours of ethics or WA law
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
The Washington Board of Massage and the Department of Health and Health Systems Quality Assurance Division are now accepting applications from massage educators or massage school owners.
The Washington Board of Massage extended the hands-on continuing education policy's expiration date through December 31, 2022.
The Washington Department of Health and Health Systems Quality Assurance Division is now accepting applications from licensed massage therapists to fill professional member vacancies on the Board of Massage. Apply for an appointment today!
On March 30, 2022, Governor Inslee signed into law Senate Bill 5753, which increases the number of members on the Washington Board of Massage from four to seven.
The Washington Board of Massage met to discuss the ongoing difficulty in obtaining hands-on continuing education during COVID-19 and voted to push back the date for massage therapists to meet CE requirements until June 30, 2022.
Washington’s personal protective equipment (PPE) stockpile is available to help support state agencies, counties, and other partners to meet COVID-19 PPE requests through October 31, 2021. Health-care providers and businesses are encouraged to order PPE to help return the state’s PPE stockpile back to pre-COVID levels before it expires.
Washington Governor Jay Inslee issued Proclamation 21-14 on August 9, 2021, which requires health-care workers, including massage therapists, to be fully vaccinated with a COVID-19 vaccination by October 18, 2021.
The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries issued new guidance addressing how to verify employee vaccination status, how to protect unvaccinated staff, and when employees need to wear masks. Per the new guidance, individuals who work in the health-care industry, such as massage therapists, must continue to wear a mask while at work.
To address the ongoing difficulty in obtaining hands-on continuing education during COVID-19, the Washington Board of Massage issued Policy Number BOM 20-01.2 that pushes the date back for massage therapists to meet CE requirements through December 31, 2021. The Board also adopted new massage therapy rules effective September 1, 2021.