Mississippi Legislative and Policy Developments

State Board of Massage Therapy
353 S Fourth Street
PO Box 20
Morton, MS 39117
Phone: 601-732-6038
Fax: 601-732-6447
Email: director@msbmt.state.ms.us

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 700 in-class hours (after July 1, 2021: 500 hours), 100 hours supervised clinic, and NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years (12 hours each year) and current CPR
Max 5 hours online
3 hours of MS state law/rules
3 hours of ethics

Regulation Type: 
State License

Mississippi Proposes New Massage Therapy Rules

House Bill No. 1263 passed this legislative session, and the included provisions require an amendment to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy Rules and Regulations. You can submit commentary to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy showing your support or opposition to the proposed rules no later than August 11, 2021.

Massage Establishments Must Register Their Business in Mississippi

The Mississippi legislature passed Senate Bill 2751 this session, requiring the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy to develop guidelines for massage establishment registration. The initial registration fee is $50 and it must be paid to the Board no later than January 1, 2022.

Update on Mississippi House Bill 1315 and Senate Bill 2751

House Bill 1315 aimed to deregulate massage therapy, but died in the legislature. Senate Bill 2751 is a sunset bill that extends the Mississippi Massage Practice Act, with a few amendments affecting practitioners and schools. SB 2751 was signed by Governor Reeves and goes into effect July 1, 2021.
 

Mississippi COVID-19 State Update for Massage Therapists

ABMP, ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted Mississippi, from executive orders affecting business closures, to reopening protocols modifying practice procedures, to financial programs developed to aid the unemployed. 

Please note: We have recently updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Learn more...