Maryland Legislative and Policy Developments

Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
4201 Patterson Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21215-2299
Phone: 410-764-4738
Fax: 410-358-1879

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist or Registered Massage Practitioner
Licensed Massage Therapist Requirements: 600 hours, 60 college credit hours, and MBLEx or NCETMB
Registered Massage Practitioner Requirements: 600 hours, and MBLEx or NCETMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
3 hours of ethics
3 hours of communicable disease
17 hours of MT related
1 hour of diversity/cultural competency
Practice-building and insurance courses do not qualify as CE

Regulation Type: 
State License

Maryland COVID-19 Update—Permission to Practice June 5, 2020

Maryland Governor Larry Hogan announced that personal service establishments, including beauty salons, barbershops, massage therapy establishments, and establishments that provide esthetic services or nail technician services, may resume business operations as of 5:00 p.m. ET on June 5, 2020, per Executive Order 20-06-03-01.

Maryland Senate Bill 554 Becomes Law

In March we wrote to you regarding Senate Bill 554, which granted power to county-level government entities allowing them to create massage establishment licensure requirements.

Maryland Senate Bill 554

Legislators in Maryland are considering Senate Bill 554 (SB554), which would grant more power to county-level government entities to allow them to create massage establishment licensure requirements. 

Please note: We have recently updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Learn more...