Illinois House Bill 0588 was signed into law this legislative session and requires massage establishments to post a human trafficking resource notice in bathrooms located within their businesses.
Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Chicago office: 100 W Randolph, 9th Floor, Chicago, IL 60601
Springfield office: 320 W Washington, 3rd Floor, Springfield, IL 62786
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours, and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
All hours permitted online
2 hours of ethics
1 hour sexual harassment prevention
Effective March 1, 2021, a new rule allows all 24 hours of continuing education credits to be completed online.
Personal Care Service Guidelines for businesses in Illinois have been updated for Tier 3, beginning November 20, 2020.
Illinois revised its CE requirements for this renewal cycle in an emergency rule that allows all 24 hours of CE credits to be completed online.
Personal Care Services Guidelines issued by the Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity were recently updated.
ABMP, ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted the licensing regulations and laws in the state of Illinois.
ABMP offers members a free, one-hour sexual harassment prevention training CE to meet new Illinois continuing education requirement.
Illinois has had a law in place since 2016 requiring certain types of businesses to post a notice informing the public and victims of human trafficking of telephone hotline numbers to seek help or report unlawful activity. Massage therapy establishments have now been added to the list of businesses that must post this notice. All massage therapy businesses (other than sole practitioners and some other state licensees) must now post this notice.
The Rockford City Council will be meeting on Monday November 20 at 5:30 pm in the City Council Chambers, 2nd Floor City Hall, 425 East State St., Rockford IL, to address a proposed massage establishment ordinance for the city of Rockford. Click here to read the draft ordinance.
An amendment was added to Senate Bill 9 in the Illinois Legislature last week which would impose a sales tax on massage therapy services. The bill includes a new list of taxable "personal care services," including massage, manicuring, tattooing, and tanning. However, "personal care services" are excluded from the tax if they are performed by, or under the order of, a licensed physician, physician's assistant, nurse, or a licensed chiropractor. Hair cutting, coloring, and styling are also exempt.