As of July 1, 2010, you will need to be state licensed to practice as a massage therapist in Montana. The Montana Board of Massage Therapy is now accepting applications for licensing. Applications can be found at www.massagetherapists.mt.gov. Because of the way the law was written, no licenses may be issued until 7/1/2010. However, license applications should be submitted now. Completed applications will be processed and a letter will be issued to the applicant stating the licensure status. Applications with the status of "approved" will be issued a license beginning 7/1/2010. Application Processes You may apply through one of three processes: grandfathering, endorsement, or examination. The grandfathering application is the easiest, consisting of four parts listed below.
- Submit a completed application and application/license fee of $130.00 (check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Massage Therapy).
- Submit documentation that the applicant will be at least 18 years of age by 7/1/2010. A copy of a driver's license or birth certificate is acceptable.
- Provide a notarized affidavit stating that the applicant has engaged in the practice of massage therapy for at least 100 hours in Montana on or before 7/1/2010 and prior to application. A form is provided in the application packet for your use.
- Provide two letters attesting to the good moral character of the applicant sent directly to the board office by individuals who are not family members (your employer or clients are good choices). A form is provided in the application packet for your use and may be copied as many times as needed.