Due to Hurricane Idalia’s devastating impact, license renewal deadlines have been pushed back for some professionals, including massage therapists and their businesses. Practitioners now have until October 2, 2023, to renew their professional and establishment licenses.
Florida Legislative and Policy Developments
Board of Massage Therapy
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C06
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
Min 12 hours of hands-on MT techniques
Min 2 hours of medical error prevention
Min 2 hours of Florida law
Min 2 hours of ethics
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
Approved online courses may be used to meet the 12-hour hands-on technique requirement, which means all continuing education may be completed online for this renewal period.
Florida lawmakers passed a bill that requires individuals to use, and certain public spaces to provide, restrooms that align with their sex assigned at birth. Find out how House Bill 1521, signed by Governor Ron De Santis, may affect your school.
The Florida Board of Massage Therapy (Board) has proposed a new massage therapy rule that amends the definitions section affecting massage therapy schools. ABMP has summarized the proposed rule for you below. If you would like to submit written comments to the Board in support of, or in opposition to, the proposed rules, email Danielle.Terrell@flhealth.gov by November 21, 2022.
There are two vacant seats on the Florida Board of Massage Therapy (Board). One seat is for a Florida-licensed massage therapist (LMT) and one is for a public member. Apply for a Board appointment today.
Due to COVID-19, the Florida Board of Massage Therapy made an emergency rule regarding continuing education to allow online courses to be used to meet the 12-hour hands-on technique requirement. Find out which ABMP courses are approved for the 2019–2021 renewal cycle.
ABMP has summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted the regulations and laws in the state of Florida.