Skip to main content


Alaska Board of Massage Therapists
Juneau office:
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: 907-465-2550
Fax: 907-465-2974
Anchorage office:
550 W Seventh Ave, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501-3567
Phone: 907-269-8160
Fax: 907-269-8156

> Website

Title: Massage Therapist
Requirement: 625 hours and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years

Alaska Massage Board Remains Independent and Autonomous

Executive Order No. 129 sought to dissolve the Alaska Board of Massage Therapists and transfer its functions to the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (DCCED). The executive order was successfully overturned.

Alaska Proposes New Massage Therapy Rules

The Alaska Board of Massage Therapists has proposed massage therapy rules that affect education and continuing education requirements. Submit written comments before December 27, 2022.

New Massage Therapy Rules Proposed in Alaska

The Alaska Board of Massage Therapists has proposed new massage therapy rules that would impact licensure by credentials, continuing education requirements, and massage therapy establishments. Submit your commentary on the proposed changes no later than March 12, 2021.

Alaska Massage Licenses Must Be Renewed by September 30, 2017; You Must Complete 6 Hours of Continuing Education Before Then

All Alaska Massage Therapy licenses must be renewed by September 30 of odd-numbered years. That means that you must renew your current massage license by September 30, 2017.

License renewal applications will be available on the Board's website sometime after July 1, 2017.

Alaska Massage Therapy Licenses Are Mandatory

As discussed in prior updates, the law requiring that all Alaska massage therapists hold massage therapist licenses passed in 2014. The law went into effect on July 15, 2015, and, as previously mentioned, the state is accepting applications.  Additionally, regulations have now been issued. The Massage Board has now issued a statement that it will begin enforcing the massage licensing law on June 30, 2016. Therefore:

ACTION ALERT: Submit Your Written Comments Concerning the Proposed Alaska State Massage Regulations by July 17, 2015

As we’ve previously informed our members, a state law was passed in August 2014 requiring that Alaska massage therapists must hold a state-issued massage license in order to practice.  Following the passage of the law, the next step in the process was for the Alaska Board of Massage Therapists (Board) to issue regulations filling in the details of the licensing requirements and procedures.