Alaska Proposes New Massage Therapy Rules

The Alaska Board of Massage Therapists (Board) has proposed new massage therapy rules that would affect education and continuing education requirements.

ABMP has summarized the proposed rules for you below. If you would like to submit written comments to the Board in support of, or in opposition to, the proposed rules, email before December 27, 2022.

Massage School Education Requirements (12 AAC 79.140)
The current rules include required curricula for 500 hours and 625 hours of massage therapy education. While 625 hours has been the standard hour requirement for applications submitted after July 1, 2019, the proposed rules remove the 500-hour curriculum. The proposed rules would require massage therapy schools to teach the following subjects for the minimum number of hours:

  1. Anatomy, physiology, pathology, and kinesiology: 162 hours  
  2. Massage theory and practical application: 275 hours
  3. Clinical practice: 138 hours
  4. Ethics and laws: 50 hours

Total: 625 hours

Continuing Education Requirements (12 AAC 79.210)
The proposed rules remove the language that allows all continuing education credits to be obtained online. This does not mean credits cannot be earned online or must be earned in person—the rules simply do not address methods required to obtain continuing education.

In addition, the current rules allow licensees to earn credit for completing a bloodborne pathogens and universal and standard precautions course once every six years. The proposed rules remove this provision.