Effective July 1, 2022, the Board of Massage Licensure will be able to grant a temporary license to a person in good standing who is either licensed, registered, or certified in another state without passing a competency exam by the Board.
Tennessee Legislative and Policy Developments
Dept of Health
Board of Massage Licensure
665 Mainstream Drive, 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500hrs and NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
2 hours of ethics
2 hours of TN law
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
On May 5, 2020, Governor Lee issued Executive Order No 33, allowing barbershops, hair salons, waxing and threading salons, nail salons, spas providing body treatments, and massage therapy establishments to reopen May 6, 2020.
ABMP, ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted Tennessee, from executive orders affecting business closures, to reopening protocols modifying practice procedures, to financial programs developed to aid the unemployed.
In April we wrote to you regarding a proposal to increase massage license fees and massage related legislation.
There are two important issues currently happening in Tennessee that impact the massage industry.