Columbus Mayor Andrew Ginther issued an Executive Order that requires everyone, regardless of vaccination status, to wear a facial covering inside indoor public settings. The order is effective September 10, 2021.
Ohio Legislative and Policy Developments
State Medical Board
Massage Licensing Division
30 East Broad Street, 3rd Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6127
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: After April 7, 2021: 600 hours with minimum 9 month program, and MBLEx
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
The Ohio legislature has introduced House Bill 81 and Senate Bill 55. The companion bills clean up the Massage Practice Act, remove much of the derogatory language about massage therapists, and add minimal establishment licensing and massage therapist registration.
House Bill 442 passed the Ohio House on December 22, 2020, and modifies the minimum number of education and training hours for massage therapists. Required training hours will decrease from 750 to 600 and will become effective April 12, 2021.
There have been many changes in the massage therapy, esthetics, and cosmetology professions and communities in response to COVID-19 (coronavirus), from state orders closing businesses, to reopening phases modifying practice procedures. Below is information regarding your back-to-practice date and safety guidelines to minimize risk of exposure to and spread of COVID-19 in the workplace.
The Ohio State Medical Board recently redefined the scope of practice for massage therapists.
Legislators in Ohio are considering Senate Bill 105 (SB105), which modifies existing Ohio massage statutes that address human trafficking and clarifies responsibilities of different government entities.