There will be one seat open to a licensed massage therapist on the Hawaii Board of Massage Therapy next year, and Governor Ige’s office is looking for qualified applicants now. Find out how to apply and help shape the future of Hawaii massage therapy!
Hawaii Legislative and Policy Developments
Dept of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
State Board of Massage
PO Box 3469
1010 Richards Street
Honolulu, HI 96801
Copy of laws: $1.25
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 570 hours and a written exam administered by the state. Apprenticeship permits available.
Renewal: no CEU requirement/2 years
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
Senate Bill 599 passed this legislative session and requires massage therapy licensees to complete 12 hours of continuing education every biennial renewal, beginning July 1, 2024.
Hawaii HB 223 and SB 599 would require 12 hours of continuing education credits for each biennial renewal period beginning July 1, 2022. Two of the 12 hours would need to be “first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, or emergency related courses.”