The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation released a revised Massage Consultation Document for massage therapists. Use their checklist to make sure your current document is in compliance with the new requirements.
There is currently one seat open to a licensed massage therapist on the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy, and Governor Ducey’s office is looking for qualified applicants. ABMP encourages interested and eligible members to consider applying for an appointment, as it’s a way to become more engaged in the profession. Find out how!
Senate Bill 599 passed this legislative session and requires massage therapy licensees to complete 12 hours of continuing education every biennial renewal, beginning July 1, 2024.
ABMP is in favor of Senate Bill 803 to further the sunset of the Barbering and Cosmetology Board, with some suggested amendments. ABMP is concerned about deregulating haircutting, hairstyling, and eyelash extensions, and including massage in the scope of practice for estheticians. ABMP details the potential negative impact on public health and safety.
ASCP, AHP, and ANP are in favor of Senate Bill 803, furthering the sunset of the Barbering and Cosmetology Board, with some suggested amendments. The Associations are concerned about the deregulation of haircutting and hairstyling currently in the bill and the potential negative impact on public health and safety.
The Oregon State Board of Massage Therapists voted to extend the waiver that removes late fees for license renewals and to keep continuing education requirements at the statutorily required 12 hours to assist licensed massage therapists during the transition into a post-COVID-19 working environment.
The New Mexico Massage Therapy Board announced that massage therapists will return to the continuing education (CE) provisions required by licensees prior to COVID-19. This will immediately affect members renewing licenses by October 2021.
There are currently two seats open to licensed massage therapists on the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy. To qualify, candidates must be residents of Georgia, hold an active Georgia massage license, and have at least five years of massage therapy experience. Learn how you can apply!
The Mississippi legislature passed Senate Bill 2751 this session, requiring the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy to develop guidelines for massage establishment registration. The initial registration fee is $50 and it must be paid to the Board no later than January 1, 2022.
To address the ongoing difficulty in obtaining hands-on continuing education during COVID-19, the Washington Board of Massage issued Policy Number BOM 20-01.2 that pushes the date back for massage therapists to meet CE requirements through December 31, 2021. The Board also adopted new massage therapy rules effective September 1, 2021.