If your massage therapy license was inactive or expired between the period of March 17, 2020, through January 31, 2021, you are eligible to renew your license. You have until December 31, 2021, to submit all renewal requirements.
State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
2401 NW 23rd, Suite 84
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 500 hours plus MBLEx or NCBTMB; liability insurance
Renewal: 10 hours/2 years
Senate Bill 750 and House Bill 1652 were not heard in committee and therefore did not pass this year.
Senate Bill 750 and House Bill 1652 have been introduced in Oklahoma this legislative session. The ways in which these bills will impact massage therapists include establishment licensing, fee increases, grandfathering, and more.
The Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering (OSBCB) adopted new and amended rules to the OSBCB Regulations and Statute Book effective September 11, 2020. ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized the rules for you below.
The Oklahoma Advisory Massage Therapy Board worked over the past year to update the Massage Practice Act. A committee was formed to draft new legislation that would open grandfathering for those who didn't meet the licensing window when licensing was in effect a few years ago and update some language.
A new rule has been issued in Oklahoma reducing the number of continuing education hours required for massage therapy license renewal. Massage therapists now are required to complete 10 hours of CE every two years in order to renew a license. Previously, the rules required completion of 16 hours of CE every two years.
CE is acceptable if it has been approved or provided by any of the following:
(1) a state-licensed or accredited massage therapy school;
(2) an accredited institution of higher education;
As you know, Oklahoma passed its massage therapy licensing statute this past spring. The next step was for the Governor to appoint members to the Massage Advisory Board, which will advise the Cosmetology Board on issues regarding massage therapist licensing. The Governor completed the appointments to the Advisory Board, and the Boards have begun their work. A primary function of the Advisory Board and Cosmetology Board is to write the rules (regulations) that will fill in the details of the massage licensing statute. The deadline for the Boards to submit rules is December 23, 2016.
We recently notified you that the Oklahoma Cosmetology Board would start accepting grandfathering license applications after August 25, 2016. That is no longer the case. There is new information posted on the Board’s website stating: