Governor Cuomo issued Executive Order 202.81, announcing that businesses offering personal care services in Orange Zone areas may resume operations beginning December 14, 2020.
Office of the Professions: Massage Therapy
89 Washington Ave
Albany, NY 12234
Phone: 518-474-3817 ext. 410
Note: Massage category is #27.
Online contact form: https://eservices.nysed.gov/professions/contact-us/#/
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 1000 hours and state exam
Renewal: 36 hours/3 years
Up to 36 hours can be online. Provider should be NY approved.
According to Empire State Development, medically necessary massage therapy is considered an “essential health care operation” and is permitted to resume when micro-cluster zones are labeled orange or red.
Governor Cuomo announced updated COVID-19 micro-cluster focus zones in New York. Parts of Erie County will enter the Orange Zone November 20, 2020, and nonessential, high-risk businesses must close.
These new guidelines allow facials, face massages, facial makeup, face waxing, beard trims, and shaves to be performed so long as the provider is wearing a face mask and a face shield, and receives a negative COVID-19 test at least once on or after September 3, 2020, before performing the services.
An updated Interim Guidance for Personal Care Services During the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency document released July 1, 2020, includes a requirement that employees be tested for COVID-19 every two weeks for regions in Phase 3. This includes sole practitioners.
The reopening of businesses in New York State is happening on a regional basis, and our members' businesses fall into different phases of reopening. Additional information and guidelines about each phase are below, but here is a brief overview.
New bills affecting the reflexology and massage therapy professions have been introduced in the New York State legislature this session.
New York Assembly Bill 9259 was signed into law by Governor Cuomo on December 17, 2014. Under the new law, a massage therapist who holds a massage license in another state does not need to have a New York State massage license in order to teach the hands on portion of a CE course in New York, as long as the CE course (1) is taught in connection with a CE program that is conducted by a New York State-approved CE sponsor, and (2) pertains to a modality that falls within New York's scope of practice for massage.