The New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy issued proposed rules that would impact clinical education, continuing education, and devices that cause percussions or vibrations.
Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy
PO Box 45048
Newark, NJ 07101
Title: Licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapist or Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, MBLEx or NCBTMB or NCCAOM Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination, and liability insurance
Renewal: 20 hours/2 years, current CPR, and current AED
Business courses do not qualify as CE
Any person licensed to perform massage and bodywork therapies may block out their home address if it appears on their license.
All 20 continuing education hours for the 2022 biennial license renewal may be obtained online. Visit the ABMP Education Center to learn and earn free CE.
Licensees must complete one hour of continuing education in laws and rules relevant to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy effective September 20, 2021.
In June 2020, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy prohibited mobile massage therapy services due to COVID-19. While massage services have since been allowed to resume in business locations, mobile services remain prohibited. Join LMT peers via Zoom to brainstorm local industry ideas and solutions to reverse the ban on mobile massage therapy services.
Per Executive Order No. 154 issued June 13, 2020, personal care businesses may resume business operations June 22, 2020, including beauty salons, barbershops, cosmetology salons, day spas (excluding saunas, steam rooms, and shared bathing facilities), medical spas, hair braiding shops, massage therapy establishments, and nail salons.
The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling is having a meeting to discuss COVID-19 issues on June 9, 2020, at 9:30 a.m. ET.
New Jersey Senate Bill 2428 Senate Bill 2428 was introduced in 2018, passed on January 21, 2020 and becomes effective April 20, 2020. This bill requires proof of liability insurance with coverage of $1M per occurrence and $3M aggregate per year. Proof of such insurance is a requirement for licensure and is also required upon license renewal beginning April 20, 2020.
New Jersey Senate Bill 2414 was signed into law on May 1, 2017. Under the new law, people applying for a New Jersey massage therapy license for the first time must have completed 500 hours of massage education and passed a national massage exam. Under the previous law, it was sufficient if license applicants met only one of those two requirements. The new law will not affect people who are currently licensed.