State Board of Massage Therapy
1755 E Plumb Lane, Suite 252
Reno, NV 89502
Phone: 775-687-9955

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 550 hours, and NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years (12 hours each year)

Regulation Type: 
State License

Nevada Board Considers Changes to Existing Regulations

On February 2, 2011, the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists (NSBMT) held a workshop to solicit comments on the following topics it has included in proposed regulations: education requirements, requirements for restroom signage, changes to the existing regulation regarding unethical or unprofessional conduct, and a new requirement for a “managing therapist.”

Bill Would Expand the Board’s Power

Senate bill 119, sponsored by Senator Carlton, would revise the provisions governing the regulation of massage therapists. If passed, the bill would allow the board to issue administrative citations, impose administrative fines up to $50,000; and would require law enforcement to give the board any records they request relating to a charge of prostitution, violence, or sexual offense.

To read the entire bill, go to

Subscribe to RSS - Nevada