The Idaho legislature introduced House Bill 273, which seeks to deregulate massage therapy. The bill would be effective July 1, 2022, if it passes. ABMP is opposed to this bill and is sending a letter to Idaho representatives.
Division of Occupational & Professional Licenses
11351 W. Chinden Blvd, Bldg 6
Boise, ID 83714
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx, NCETMB, NCETM, or other Board-approved exam
Renewal: 6 hours/1 year starting after first renewal
Information regarding Idaho's back-to-practice permission date and safety guidelines to minimize risk of exposure to and spread of COVID-19 in the workplace.
Idaho HB 519 has become law. The new law allows Idaho massage therapy schools to create tuition work-off programs whereby students can obtain tuition credit for performing massage in the school’s clinical program. Schools may choose to create such a tuition work-off program but they are not required to do so. The bill requires that the program must be part of a clinical requirement or supervised massage therapy fieldwork experience for graduation, the stude
Idaho HB 433, recently introduced in the state legislature, would allow massage therapy schools to create tuition work-off programs whereby students could obtain tuition credit for performing massage in the school’s clinical program. Schools could choose to create such a tuition work-off program but would not be required to do so. The bill would require that the program must be part of a clinical requirement or supervised massage therapy fieldwork experience for graduation, t
Idaho H23 was recently introduced in the Idaho legislature. Under this bill, an Idaho massage license would not be required for practitioners licensed in another state who are “practicing on clients participating in organized athletic events or affiliated with or employed by established athletic teams, athletic organizations or performing arts companies temporarily practicing, competing or performing in [Idaho] for no more than sixty (60) days in a calendar year.” ABMP supports H23 and we will keep yo
- completed 500 hours of massage education at a registered school,
- taken and passed the MBLEx exam, the NCETMB exam, or the NCETM exam.
If you have already obtained your Idaho Massage Therapist license, you can disregard this reminder.
All massage therapists in the state of Idaho must now have a State-issued massage license in order to practice. The deadline to apply for your license by grandfathering is July 1, 2014. There is no “automatic” grandfathering – you must apply to be grandfathered in.
Click here for the license application and instructions.