There are currently two seats open to licensed massage therapists on the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy. To qualify, candidates must be residents of Georgia, hold an active Georgia massage license, and have at least five years of massage therapy experience. Learn how you can apply!
Board of Massage Therapy
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, NCE or MBLEx, and proof of insurance required first.
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
12 hours hands-on
ABMP, ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted the regulations and laws in the state of Georgia, and we encourage you to look at the economic assistance information outlined at the bottom of this email, which addresses financial aid, unemployment benefits, and other programs.
The Amended Georgia House Bill 242 became effective July 1, 2019. Following are highlighted changes that pertain to massage therapists and schools.
In August and October of 2015 we notified all of our Georgia members via email about changes to Georgia's continuing education rules. The text of those message is below, for your reference. Again, these changes were made in 2015 and the information was emailed to members then. These are not new 2016 changes.
8/3/2015 Email: "Contact the Georgia Board Now to Voice Yor Opinion on Proposed New CE Rules"
- Actively licensed massage therapists shall include their Georgia massage therapy license number on all forms of advertisement no later than October 31, 2010.
- Establishments providing massage therapy services by more than one licensed massage therapist shall include on all forms of advertisement no later than October 31, 2010, the following statement: “Georgia Licensed Massage Therapists.”