House Bill No. 6666 passed this legislative session and requires every business that employs a massage therapist to be under the management of a licensed massage therapist, hairdresser, cosmetician, esthetician, eyelash technician, or nail technician.
Department of Public Health
Massage Therapy Licensure
410 Capitol Ave, MS #12 APP
PO Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 750 hours, and MBLEx or NCETMB
Renewal: 24 hours/4 years
Max 6 hours online
Max 12 hours non-NCBTMB approved
Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont announced Phase 2 of Reopen Connecticut, allowing businesses offering personal services to resume operations June 17, 2020, including day spas, estheticians, waxing, massage therapy, nail technicians, and eyelash technicians.
A new law in Connecticut states that, starting on October 1, 2019, all new applicants for massage therapy licensure must have completed 750 hours of massage education plus at least sixty hours of unpaid and supervised clinical or internship experience The law states:
- Replaces the title “Connecticut licensed massage therapist” with “massage therapist”; and
- Prohibits anyone other than a licensed massage therapist or a holder of another applicable license from using the titles “massage therapist,” “licensed message therapist,” “massage practitioner,” “massagist,” “masseur,” or “masseuse. ”