Nevada Legislature Considers Revisions to Massage Law

Nevada AB 126, recently introduced in the state legislature, proposes to make several changes to the state’s massage therapy law.  Among those proposed changes are:
  • Language exempting nail technologists from the massage licensing requirement if they massage only the hands, feet, forearms, or lower legs of a client within their permissible scope of practice;
  • Requiring that license applicants pass an examination administered by an “accredited board,” rather than a board that is specifically accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA);
  • Deleting the current law’s provision that a license application can be denied, or disciplinary action can be initiated, if the individual was convicted for a crime involving “moral turpitude” within the past 10 years.  A license can still be denied and disciplinary action can still be taken if, within the last 10 years, the individual was convicted of a crime involving sex, violence, prostitution, theft or drugs, or a crime related to massage therapy; and
  • Providing that the Board may deny an individual’s license application, or initiate disciplinary action against a license holder, if that person knowingly fails to report to the Board that another person has engaged in unethical or unprofessional conduct as it relates to the practice of massage therapy, within 30 days after becoming aware of that conduct.
We will keep you informed of any important developments on AB 126.
State: 

Please note: We have recently updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Learn more...