Skip to main content


Colorado Office of Massage Therapy Licensure
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-894-7800
Fax: 303-894-7764

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 650 hours, and MBLEX or NCBTMB; liability insurance
Renewal: no CEU requirement/2 years


Senate Bill 219, sponsored by Senator Chris Romer, has been introduced in the Colorado General Assembly. The bill has been assigned to the Business, Labor and Technology Committee. If passed, SB 219 would establish a Massage Therapy Practice Act under the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division of Registrations. Licenses would be required of all massage therapists.

If the bill does pass, massage therapists will be impacted as follows:


Massage Therapists Evaluate A Predictable Response from DORA

Colorado law requires that individuals or groups proposing legislation to regulate any occupation or profession first submit information to the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) for the purpose of sunrise review. Sunrise review is essentially an analysis of an occupation with the intent being to only impose regulation on occupations when it is necessary to protect public health, safety, or welfare.


The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) released the Sunrise Review regarding the regulation of massage therapists on October 15, 2007. Predictably, the review did not recommend that the state regulate massage therapists. A copy of the report can be found at:

Additional comments will be posted after an analysis of the report is complete.