Skip to main content

Call for Colorado Chair Massage Volunteers


The Colorado Coalition of Massage Therapists invites you to volunteer for the annual Massage Therapy Legislative Awareness Day (MTLAD), hosted by Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals (ABMP) and the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA)–Colorado Chapter. This is an excellent opportunity to demonstrate firsthand to Colorado legislators what massage therapy is all about and to show them who we are as a community.

ABMP is seeking volunteers to provide complimentary chair massage to Colorado state legislators from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. on Friday, April 14, 2023. Volunteers must have completed massage school and have a current Colorado state massage therapy license and liability insurance coverage. Volunteers must bring their own massage chair and supplies.

Date: Friday, April 14, 2023
Where: Colorado State Capitol Building, 200 E. Colfax Avenue, Denver
Event time: 8:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m. (7:30 a.m. setup)*

*You can volunteer for all or part of the event. However, please commit to volunteering for at least two hours if your schedule allows.

To volunteer or to request more information, please contact ABMP Government Relations Coordinator Erin Haden at Detailed instructions about event directions, parking, equipment, and more will be provided to those who volunteer. Volunteers who stay at the event until 1:00 p.m. will be treated to an allergy-friendly lunch courtesy of AMTA. Help us spread the volunteer opportunity and share the online link with industry colleagues!

Background on the Event:
The Colorado Coalition of Massage Therapists has sponsored the MTLAD event every year since 2003. There was a pause in the event due to the pandemic, and this is the first MTLAD since 2019. After a three-year hiatus, the 2023 event is a great chance to bring licensed massage therapists to the capitol to provide chair massage to legislators and their staff, create a positive image of the profession with lawmakers, and to make influential contacts in the legislature.