The California massage therapy community has an opportunity to join 45 other licensed states by instituting professional licensing in place of the current uneven, incomplete voluntary certification process administered by a private organization, the California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC).
California Legislative and Policy Developments
California Massage Therapy Council
One Capitol Mall, Suite 320
Sacramento, CA 95814
Title: Certified Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: no CEU requirement/2 years
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
ABMP is in favor of Senate Bill 803 to further the sunset of the Barbering and Cosmetology Board, with some suggested amendments. ABMP is concerned about deregulating haircutting, hairstyling, and eyelash extensions, and including massage in the scope of practice for estheticians. ABMP details the potential negative impact on public health and safety.
ASCP, AHP, and ANP are in favor of Senate Bill 803, furthering the sunset of the Barbering and Cosmetology Board, with some suggested amendments. The Associations are concerned about the deregulation of haircutting and hairstyling currently in the bill and the potential negative impact on public health and safety.
After being postponed in 2020, the California Massage Therapy Act is up for sunset review this legislative session. The Committee on Business and Professions is hosting a meeting Tuesday, March 9, 2021, at 9:00 a.m. PST and you can attend virtually. You can also submit comments to the committee if you think CAMTC should continue or licensure should be considered.
Governor Newsom modified the state’s Stay at Home orders and split the state up into five regions. Regions that have 15% or less intensive care unit (ICU) bed capacity will be shut down from all but essential services for three weeks.
Governor Newsom announced on July 13, 2020, that counties that have remained on the County Monitoring List for three consecutive days must close indoor businesses, which includes those offering personal care services as of July 13, 2020, “unless they can be modified to operate outside or by pick-up.”
The California Department of Public Health issued new guidelines for Personal Care Services on July 2, 2020, for massage therapists, estheticians, cosmetologists, and nail professionals. Here are the major changes in the new guidelines:
Massage therapists, estheticians, cosmetologists, and nail professionals may resume business operations no sooner than June 19, 2020.
The California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC) sent an email late Friday evening with the following update:
"Today, however, we received an additional communication from the Director of the Department of Health Care Services: