Alabama Legislative and Policy Developments

Alabama

Board of Massage Therapy
2777 Zelda Road
Montgomery, AL 36106
Phone: 334-420-7233
Fax: 334-263-6115

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 650 hours and MBLEx or NCBTMB; liability insurance
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years

Regulation Type: 
State License

Advocacy Home

Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.

New Massage Board Created in Alabama

On May 15, 2024, Governor Kay Ivey signed into law Senate Bill 137, terminating the Alabama Board of Massage Therapy and its functions to create the new Alabama Massage Therapy Licensing Board. Learn key takeaways from the bill and how its passage may affect you.

Alabama Board in Jeopardy of Dissolution

Without your support, the Alabama massage therapy profession is in danger of losing its regulatory board, which could result in inconsistent regulation or none at all. Call Governor Kay Ivey to encourage the passage of Senate Bill 137 to protect massage regulation.

Alabama Announces Proposed Rules; Reducing Fees a Possibility

The Alabama Board of Massage Therapy (Board) is proposing new rules that affect multiple sections. It’s time to advocate and help shape the massage therapy profession in your state—submit comments to the Board before September 4.

Alabama Proposes New Massage Therapy Rules

The Alabama Board of Massage Therapy announced proposed rule amendments that affect the fee schedule and establishment licensure. Written comments are due by August 4, 2022.

Alabama COVID-19 State Update for Massage Therapists

ABMP, ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted Alabama, from executive orders affecting business closures, to reopening protocols modifying practice procedures, to financial programs developed to aid the unemployed.