House Bill 8 requires massage therapists to apply a 6 percent sales tax on massage therapy services and will go into effect January 1, 2023. Learn how to create a sales and use tax account and the definition of “medical necessity.”
Kentucky Legislative and Policy Developments
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
The Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy published proposed rules that affect massage therapy fees and suggest adding two new sections to the fee schedule: license reinstatement and certificate of good standing fees.
House Bill 8 was signed into law on April 14, 2022. Effective January 1, 2023, massage therapists are required to charge a 6 percent sales tax on massage services, except for those that are “medically necessary.”
Governor Beshear vetoed House Bill 8, which would impose a 6% sales tax on massage services. The legislature will likely override the veto and it's important that you contact your representatives so that they clean up the bill.
Help ABMP oppose House Bill 8 by calling your senators and representatives. You can use our provided phone script. Now is the time to advocate for yourself and all Kentucky massage therapists.
The Kentucky legislature introduced House Bill 8 (HB 8) this session, which would impose a 6% sales tax on massage services. ABMP opposes HB 8 and invites you to take action to oppose this bill before it becomes law—contact your senator today.
The Kentucky Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy has proposed new rules that affect the following areas: fees, exams, applications, license reinstatement, complaint processes, ethics, and continuing education. Written comments in support or opposition of the rules will be accepted through November 30, 2021.
The Kentucky Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy announced during their September 13, 2021, meeting that due to the state of emergency, massage therapy license renewals will be extended through January 15, 2022.
Kentucky House Bill 79 was signed by Governor Beshear March 18, 2021. HB 79 requires criminal background checks and photos to be submitted with applications to practice massage therapy.
ABMP has verified that amendments will be made to Kentucky House Bill 79 and the requirement for massage establishment licenses will be removed from the bill.