The Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy (Board) issued a proposed rule that would require the Board to clearly list 316 convictions of concern that may disqualify an individual from receiving a license. Elevate your voice and attend the public hearing on July 20 at 10:00 a.m. EDT where the rule will be discussed.
Indiana Legislative and Policy Developments
Professional Licensing Agency
Attn: State Board of Massage Therapy
402 W Washington St, Room W072
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Title: Certified Massage Therapist
Requirements: 625 hours, MBLEx or NCBTMB; liability insurance
Renewal: 24 CEU hours/4 years
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
The Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy made a decision regarding continuing education (CE) at their July 2022 board meeting. Find out how many CE hours you need before the May 15, 2025, renewal.
The Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy's rules will be effective July 13, 2022. This means all Indiana massage therapists must be licensed by January 11, 2023. Those currently certified will automatically become licensed. Those not certified will have six months to apply for licensure.
There are currently two vacant seats on the Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy: one for an Indiana state-certified massage therapist and one for a public member. Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we will supply you with the contact information you need to apply.
The Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy proposed new rules as a necessary step to bring licensure protocols into effect. These proposed rules would primarily change the term “certificate holder” to “license holder,” and outline continuing education requirements for renewal once licensure is the law of the land, among other modifications.
Massage therapists in Indiana need to renew their certification by May 15, 2021. The renewal fee is $150 and proof of professional liability insurance must be submitted upon renewal. Massage therapists can renew online or by paper copy.
House Bill 1289, which was passed in 2017, will create mandatory licensure in Indiana after the rules are final. Those who are currently certified will automatically roll into licensure. Those who are not certified have 183 days after the rules are final to apply through grandfathering.
Information regarding Indiana's back-to-practice permission date and safety guidelines to minimize risk of exposure to, and spread of, COVID-19 in the workplace.
The Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy is working to finalize licensure rules stipulated by HB1289 (passed in 2017), which creates mandatory licensure in Indiana.