Arkansas Legislative and Policy Developments

Dept of Health
4815 W Markham Street, Slot #8
Little Rock, AR 72205
Phone: 501-683-1448
Fax: 501-682-5640
Email: adh.massage@arkansas.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist, Master Massage Therapist, Instructor
Requirement: 500 hrs, and MBLEx or NCBTMB. Additional requirements for Master and Instructor.
Renewal: 18 hours/2 years
Max 6 hours online CE

Regulation Type: 
State License

Arkansas Bill Would Allow Massage Therapy Training at Spas

The Arkansas House of Representatives introduced House Bill 1440 in February, which would allow online education for an entire massage therapy training program and in-person education by a master massage therapist or instructor at a spa or massage clinic.

Arkansas Proposes New Cosmetology Rules

The Arkansas Department of Health (the Department) is proposing numerous revisions to the “Rules for Cosmetology in Arkansas.” ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized the changes below.

Arkansas Proposes New Massage Therapy Rules

The Arkansas Department of Health (the Department) is proposing numerous revisions to the “Rules for Massage Therapy in Arkansas.” ABMP has summarized the changes below.

Arkansas House Bill 1394

Arkansas House Bill 1394 (HB1394) is quickly moving through the legislature. HB1394 removes the requirement of a tuberculosis test for massage therapists to get licensed.

Please note: We have recently updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Learn more...