The Washington state massage therapy bills discussed in our prior Washington legislative update were signed into law on March 29, 2016.
Dept of Health: Massage Therapist
PO Box 47877
Olympia, WA 98504-7877
Title: Licensed Massage Therapists
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB. After Sept 1, 2021: 625 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB.
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
Max 12 hours online
Min 8 hours hands-on
4 hours of ethics or WA law
Two bills recently introduced in the Washington State Legislature, HB 2781 and SB 6399, would open a pathway for applicants who attended certain massage schools that are not approved by the Washington Massage Board, including out-of-state schools, to obtain a Washington state massage license. Specifically, under the bills, the Board would be
Washington HB 1252, discussed in our last Washington legislative update, has been signed into law. Under the version of the bill that was passed, massage and reflexology business owners are now subject to criminal penalties for allowing unlicensed practice in their businesses. The law states that any person who, “with knowledge or criminal negligence,” allows the unlicensed practice of massage or reflexology in his or her massage or reflexology business is guilty of a m