Pennsylvania

State Board of Massage Therapy
PO Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
Phone: 717-783-7155
Fax: 717-787-7769
Email: RA-Massagetherapy@state.pa.us

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours and MBLEx or NCBTMB exam
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years and maintain CPR certification
Min 4 hours of ethics
Min 16 contact hours

Regulation Type: 
State License

Proposed Fee Increases for PA Massage Therapists

The Pennsylvania Board of Massage Therapy is proposing new regulations which would increase the application fee for initial massage therapy licensure from $65 to $100, the fee for approval of a continuing education program from $65 to $100, and the biennial renewal fee from $75 to $200. Click here to read the proposed regulations. 

The Board is inviting the public to submit written comments on the proposal. Please submit your comments to:

Classes in Exempt Modalities Will Not Be Accepted for PA Continuing Education After 2017

The Pennsylvania State Board of Massage Therapy has issued a statement that classes in practices/modalities that are excluded from licensure under section 13 of the Pennsylvania Massage Therapy Law will not be accepted as continuing education (CE) after the 2017 license renewal. Such classes will be acceptable toward your 24 hours of CE when you renew your massage license in 2017, but they will not be accepted as CE for your 2019 renewal, or thereafter.

Courses to Satisfy New CE Requirement in PA

As we've previously mentioned, the state of Pennsylvania is now requiring that in order to renew your massage license after January 1, 2015, you must have completed two hours of continuing education (CE) in the topic area of child abuse recognition and reporting. An updated list of approved providers of this new CE requirement can be found here. The two hours in child abuse recognition and reporting count toward the 24 hours of required CE.

PA - New Continuing Education Requirement in Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting

You may have recently received a notification from the State of Pennsylvania concerning a new continuing education (CE) requirement for health-related licensees.  This new CE requirement applies to anyone who holds a current Pennsylvania massage therapist license. Under the new requirement, in order to renew your massage license after January 1, 2015, you must have completed two hours of CE in the topic area of child abuse recognition and reporting requirements.

Pennsylvania Board of Massage Therapy Appointed

The Pennsylvania State Board of Massage Therapy has been appointed and held its first meeting on August 5, 2009. The board, named below, is charged with the responsibility of writing the rules and regulations to implement the law. ABMP will keep members informed of the progress the board makes and when applications become available. The board members are:
  • Loreli H. Bauer, professional member, Bucks County
  • Nicole Beck, Office of Attorney General Designee, Dauphin County
  • Toni L. Felice, public member, Butler County

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Pennsylvania