North Dakota

Board of Massage Therapy
PO Box 3141
Bismarck, ND 58502-3141
Phone: 701-712-8624
Fax: 701-224-9824
Email: ndbmt@aptnd.com

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 750 hours, NCETMB and practical exams
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years for those practicing up to 14 years; 6 hours/2 years for those practicing 15-24 years; 3 hours/2 years for those practicing over 24 years.
Max 10 hours online

Regulation Type: 
State License

North Dakota Bills Would Reduce CE Hours and Allow Background Checks

Two bills have recently been introduced in North Dakota that could impact licensed massage therapists in the state. North Dakota SB 2085 proposes to reduce the number of continuing education hours required for massage therapists in North Dakota from 32 to 24, every two years. However, the bill would also reduce the number of CE hours that can be earned remotely from 12 to nine, and would require that four of the 24 CE hours be in ethics.

North Dakota Exempts Energy Work from Massage Licensing

HB 1304 was signed into law by Governor Dalrymple on April 5, 2011. The law exempts individuals who are practicing energy work from massage therapy licensing as long as they are not manipulating the soft tissue of the human body (not including a soft touch or tap), provided that the individual's services are not designated or implied to be massage or massage therapy.
Subscribe to RSS - North Dakota