North Carolina

Board of Massage & Bodywork Therapy
4140 Parklake Ave, Suite 100
Raleigh, NC 27612
Phone: 919-546-0050
Fax: 919-833-1059
Email: Email:

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx, NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2years or 12 hours/2 years if licensed more than 1 year but less than 2 years

Regulation Type: 
State License

North Carolina MTs Must Pay Privilege License Tax Starting July 1, 2018

North Carolina Massage and Bodywork Therapists must start paying a "Privilege License Tax" beginning July 1, 2018. This tax is $50 and is to be paid annually for license for the "privilege of practicing the profession." Here is a copy of the revised law that specifically includes massage and bodywork therapists (scroll down to 105-41):

Update on Proposed NC Massage Establishment and CE Rules

The public hearing on the North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy's proposed rules concerning massage establishments and continuing education was held on April 19. Over 200 people attended the hearing, and the majority of attendees spoke on the record about the impact that the proposed rules would have on them and their businesses. It was an impressive turnout and an energetic showing of our profession's grassroots involvement in policy issues. We thank all of you who attended and who continue to be involved in the process.

Mandatory Massage Establishment License Proposed in North Carolina

The North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy will be holding a public hearing on April 23, 2015 in Raleigh to discuss its recent proposed amendments to the state’s massage regulations, including new rules which would create a mandatory state license requirement for massage establishments. Click here to read the proposed amendments posted on the Board’s website.


Subscribe to RSS - North Carolina