New Mexico

Massage Therapy Board
Toney Anaya Building, 2nd Floor
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: 505-476-4622
Fax: 505-476-4620
Email: massage.board@state.nm.us
You must enclose a stamped, self-addressed, #10 envelope when requesting a copy of regulations.

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 650 hours and NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years
4 hours of ethics

Regulation Type: 
State License

Rule Changes Considered by the New Mexico Massage Therapy Board

The New Mexico Massage Therapy Board will convene a rule hearing to hear public testimony and comments regarding proposed amendments, repeals, and/or replacements to the rules relating to general provisions, fees, and licensing requirements for individuals, schools, and instructors. Details on the proposed changes can be found at http://www.rld.state.nm.us/Massage/news.html.

Practices Usually Excluded from New Mexico Massage Licensing

House bill 664, was signed into law by Governor Richardson on April 7, 2009.The bill, sponsored by Representative W. Ken Martinez, creates “The Unlicensed Health Care Act.” The bill essentially states that a complementary and alternative health care practitioner who is not licensed in New Mexico as a health care practitioner shall not be in violation of any licensing laws unless the practitioner engages in a scope of practice that exceeds his or her training or practices a profession that is already licensed by the state.

Proposed New Mexico Bill Could Negatively Impact Massage Therapists

HB 664, sponsored by Representative W. Ken Martinez, would create “The Unlicensed Health Care Act.” The bill, similar versions of which have been enacted in a few states as a “health freedom” bill, would exempt complementary and alternative health care practitioners from licensing laws. In those states, however, massage therapy was not already regulated at the time the “health freedom” bill was enacted. Bodywork, massage, and massage therapy are included under the definition of complementary and alternative health care practice along with a host of other modalities and practices.

New Mexico

House Bill 847, sponsored by Representative Rick Miera, was signed into law by Governor Richardson on April 2, 2007. The law will exempt the following practitioners from the Massage Therapy Practice Act:
  • Qualified members of other recognized professions that are licensed or regulated under New Mexico law.
  • Students within the course of their study in an approved massage therapy school and under the supervision of a licensed massage therapy instructor.
  • Visiting massage instructors who are in compliance with their resident state’s requirements for licensure.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - New Mexico