New Mexico's governor and the Regulation and Licensing Department are looking to streamline the application and renewal procedures for licensure. Participate in the survey before December 7, 2021.
Massage Therapy Board
Toney Anaya Building, 2nd Floor
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87505
You must enclose a stamped, self-addressed, #10 envelope when requesting a copy of regulations.
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 650 hours and NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years
4 hours of ethics
The New Mexico Massage Therapy Board is holding a rule hearing November 22, 2021, at 9:30 a.m. MDT. The rule hearing will consider proposed amendments to requirements for licensure and licensure for military service members. Find out how to attend!
A new Public Health Order issued August 17, 2021, reimplements a statewide mask mandate in New Mexico. Facemasks must be worn in all indoor public spaces—regardless of a person’s vaccination status—with limited exceptions.
Live continuing education credits will not be due until six months after the end of the Executive Order for those renewing in 2020 and 2021.
The New Mexico Massage Therapy Board announced that massage therapists will return to the continuing education (CE) provisions required by licensees prior to COVID-19. This will immediately affect members renewing licenses by October 2021.
New Mexico Department of Health Secretary Kunkel issued a Public Health Emergency Order today, permitting close contact businesses, including barbershops, hair salons, nail salons, massage therapy establishments, and esthetician clinics, to resume business operations June 1, 2020, at 25 percent occupancy.
New Mexico massage therapy establishment licensing does not make it through the legislative process before 2020 legislative session ends.
The New Mexico Massage Therapy Board adopted several new rule changes effective November 15, 2019.
The New Mexico Massage Board is seeking nominations for three vacant positions—two professional members and one public member.