ABMP, ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted Montana, from executive orders affecting business closures, to reopening protocols modifying practice procedures, to financial programs developed to aid the unemployed.
Board of Massage Therapy
PO Box 200513
Helena, MT 59620-0513
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, and MBLEx or NCETMB
Renewal: Annual renewal. 12 hours/2 years, must be completed by even-numbered renewal year.
Montana SB 104 was signed into law on February 25, 2015. The law makes a purely technical change to the state’s massage therapy law by deleting the provisions pertaining to obtaining a license by grandfathering, which expired in 2012.
If you have already received your license, you may disregard this message.
It is illegal to practice massage therapy in Montana without having a state license. Most massage therapists have already applied for and received their license. However, if you were delaying the process for some reason, perhaps you have not been practicing, or you’re taking a break for some other reason, please be advised that the “grandfathering provision” is expiring soon.