Governor Gretchen Whitmer issued a new Emergency Order that prohibits services requiring the temporary removal of masks, such as facials and beard trims. The order is in effect from November 18 to December 8, 2020.
Board of Massage Therapy
611 W Ottawa
PO Box 30670
Lansing, MI 48909
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: If enrolled prior to 8/1/17, 500 hours and MBLEx, NCETMB, or NCETM. If enrolled after 8/1/17, 625 hours and MBLEx, NCETMB, or NCETM.
Renewal: 18 hours/3 years, by October 31.
On June 5, 2020, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer issued Executive Order (EO) 2020-114, allowing massage therapists, estheticians, hair salons, barbershops, and nail professionals to resume business operations.
On June 1, 2020, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer issued Executive Order (EO) 2020-110, in which she opened some businesses in Michigan.
RE: Information regarding Michigan's back-to-practice permission date and safety guidelines to minimize risk of exposure to, and spread of, COVID-19 in the workplace.
There have been many changes in the massage therapy and cosmetology industries and communities in response to COVID-19 (coronavirus). In Michigan, perhaps the most impact was felt across businesses mandated to close.
The Michigan Massage Board is proposing changes to the Michigan Massage Therapy Rules, including changes concerning massage education, school accrediation, and continuing education. You can read the proposed rule changes here.
Under Michigan HB 5001, 625 hours of massage education are now required for licensure in Michigan if the license applicant enrolled in school after August 1, 2017. Only 500 hours are required if the license applicant enrolled in school before August 1, 2017.
This change does not affect current licensees who renew their licenses on time.
New CE Requirement
The rules governing continuing education (CE) for licensed massage therapists in Michigan have now been issued. This means that you must complete 18 hours of CE during the license renewal following your next (upcoming) renewal. No CE is required for your next renewal.
Although the Michigan massage therapy licensing law went into effect in 2014, the rules regarding continuing education (CE) have not been issued by the Michigan Board of Massage Therapy yet. The process of drafting and approving the rules is ongoing, and we can't give you a firm statement as to when the Board will issue the rules or what specifically the rules will say once they're final.
Michigan massage licenses must be renewed every 3 years, by October 31. Your license expiration date is stated on your license. Also, you should receive a postcard from the state approximately 3 months before your expiration date reminding you to renew and providing the website which you must go to in order to renew online, which is http://www.michigan.gov/elicense (click on “Massage Therapy”). The renewal fee is $225.