Reopening Massachusetts is moving into Phase II as of June 8, 2020. Businesses offering close-contact personal services may resume operations in Step 2 of Phase II.
Board of Registration of Massage Therapy
1000 Washington St, Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118-6100
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 650 hours
Renewal: no CE requirement/1 year
Last July we posted information about two bodywork licensing bills introduced in the Massachusetts Senate. The bills have been proceeding through the legislative process with numerous amendments, and there is now only one bill, MA SB 2621, which has passed in the Senate and is now before the House. If passed, the bill will require that "bodyworkers" in Massachusetts obtain a bodywork license in order to practice, and would also require licensure of bodywork schools. The bill provides the following definitions:
Effective January 13, 2017, new regulations are now in effect for the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Massage Therapy which implemented both major and minor changes to several portions of the Board’s regulations. The Board’s explanation of the rule changes that impact current licensees are summarized below. You can click here to read the full “Frequently Asked Questions” statement issued by the Board.
Under new clause (54 ½) of section 6 of Chapter 136 of the Massachusetts General Laws, massage therapy services may now be performed by licensed MT"s on Sundays. The prior state law prohibited massage on Sundays.
Our last legislative update discussed 2011 Massachusetts Senate Bill 90, which proposed to amend the state’s massage licensing law by, among other things, increasing the classroom hours required for licensure from 650 to 900 hours. SB 90 did not pass in the state legislature and has not been reintroduced in subsequent legislative sessions. We will keep you updated on future legislation affecting massage therapists in Massachusetts.