The Iowa Supreme Court issued a recent opinion establishing that, under Iowa law, the unlicensed practice of massage does not rise to the level of a criminal misdemeanor. As a result, there have been increased efforts by many cities and towns in Iowa to enact local ordinances directed at massage therapy which may impact your practice.
Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing
6200 Park Avenue, Suite 100
Des Moines, IA 50321
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours, and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 16 CEU hours/2 years
Min 8 hours hands-on
Rules were enacted at the end of 2016 changing some of the continuing education (CE) requirements for massage therapists in Iowa. Under the rules now in place:
Our last Iowa legislative update discussed 2012 HB 2126, which proposed to change the 600-hour massage education requirement for licensure in Iowa. HB 2126 did not pass, and has not been reintroduced. The 600 hour education requirement therefore remains in place in Iowa. We will keep you updated on future legislation affecting the massage profession in Iowa.