Dept of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
State Board of Massage
PO Box 3469
1010 Richards Street
Honolulu, HI 96801
Phone: 808-586-3000
Email: massage@dcca.hawaii.gov
Copy of laws: $1.25

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 570 hours and a written exam administered by the state. Apprenticeship permits available.
Renewal: 12 CEU requirement/2 years, with 2 in first aid, CPR or other emergency training.

Regulation Type: 
State License

New Statutory Requirements for Massage Therapists in Hawaii

Hawaii SB 2863, discussed in our most recent legislative update, has been signed into law. Under the new law, the state can issue a citation and impose a $250 fine per violation to any licensee for:

(1) Operation of a massage therapy establishment without a licensed principal massage therapist or licensed designee in attendance on the premises during business hours;

Hawaii House Bill 1390 Failed in Legislature

Hawaii HB 1390, which proposed a new licensing categorization for massage therapists in the state, has failed in the state legislature. Specifically, the bill failed the “first crossover deadline,” which is the deadline by which a final vote must be taken in a bill's originating house to pass the bill on the third reading, thus enabling it to cross over to the non-originating house for consideration.

Hawaii Bill Proposes New Massage License/Registration Categories

A new bill, HI HB 1390, has been introduced in the Hawaii House of Representatives which, if passed, would add two new categories for massage therapists in Hawaii:  “certified massage therapist” and “massage therapy assistant.”  The current licensed massage therapist (LMT) category would remain in place as well. The bill is currently in the initial stages of the state legislative process and may or may not become law in Hawaii.

Human Trafficking Notices Must be Posted by MTs Who Employ 5 or More People by January 1, 2014

House Bill No. 1068 was signed Governor Abercrombie on July 3, 2013, and is now Hawaii state law.  The law requires that, starting on January 1, 2014, massage therapy establishments that employ five or more people must post a notice, at least 8 ½ by 11 inches in size, containing contact information for the National Human Trafficking Resource Center Hotline.  The notice must be posted in a place where employees can easily see it. 
Subscribe to RSS - Hawaii