Georgia

Board of Massage Therapy
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858
Phone: 404-656-2881
Fax: 866-888-1308
Email: PLB-Healthcare2@sos.ga.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, NCE or MBLEx, and proof of insurance required first.
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
12 hours hands-on

Regulation Type: 
State License

Georgia Legislature Considers Amending the Massage Therapy Licensing Law

Senate Bill 364, authored by Senator Cecil Staton, would amend the Massage Therapy Practice Act. If passed, the bill would amend the licensing law in three primary ways:
  1. If convicted for a sexual offense, a person's massage therapist license would be suspended.
  2. The penalties for violations to the massage therapy law would increase.
  3. Local jurisdictions would be required to regulate massage businesses.

Georgia

The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy will host a public hearing on September 5, 2008 at the Secretary of State’s Professional Licensing Boards Division, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia, 31217. The main feature of the proposed rule amendment is the removal of existing language regarding the Board review of continuing education providers, along with the addition of new language regarding the acceptance of continuing education providers approved by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB).

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Georgia