House Bill 22-1300 allows counties, cities, and towns in Colorado to adopt local ordinances. The intent is to prevent human trafficking-related offenses to occur in illicit businesses that represent themselves as massage establishments. The bill takes effect August 10, 2022.
Colorado Office of Massage Therapy Licensure
1560 Broadway, Suite1350
Denver, CO 80202
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 500 hours, and MBLEX or NCETMB; liability insurance
Renewal: no CEU requirement/2 years
Governor Polis signed into law House Bill 22-1226, which extended massage therapy licensing requirements until September 1, 2031. No substantial changes were recommended or adopted.
Boulder County Public Health issued a public health order requiring facial coverings to be worn in public indoor spaces throughout Boulder County, Colorado, during periods of substantial or high transmission of COVID-19.
On November 17, 2020, Governor Polis issued Executive Order D 2020 235, which goes into effect November 20, 2020. This order places a number of counties on Red Tier.
The Government Relations team that represents ABMP, ASCP, AHP, and ANP has been working with the Governor's office and DORA and received Governor Polis's April 27, 2020, guidance, which allows for massage therapists, estheticians, and cosmetologists to return to work May 1, 2020. https://covid19.colorado.gov/safer-at-home/safer-at-home-personal-services
There have been many changes in the massage therapy and cosmetology industries and communities in response to COVID-19 (coronavirus), from executive orders affecting businesses, to distance learning modifying the student experience. ABMP, ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted the licensing regulations and laws in the state of Colorado, and we encourage you to look at the information regarding the economic assistance information outlined at the bottom of this email, which addresses financial aid, unemployment benefits, and other programs.
The Colorado Department of Regulation (DORA), Office of Massage Therapy Licensure will hold a Stakeholder Meeting on Wednesday, March 22, 2017, at 1:30 pm to discuss proposed Massage Therapy Rules 4, Rule 5 and Rule 13. Per the notice sent out by the state, "stakeholder input is crucial to achieving the Department's missions of consumer protection and effective licensure and enforcement, without unnecessary impediment to the economic market." We encourage you to attend the meeting if you're interested in the rulemaking process and would like to be heard.
We have received new information from the State about massage licensing renewals. Per its notification below, DORA's Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO) will be allowing a grace period for this year's renewals, until March 31, 2017, with no late fee. This means that you will have until March 31, 2017 to renew your license and pay the $179 license renewal fee, instead of December 31, 2016.
We received the following email notice from the Colorado Division of Consumer Affairs (DORA) announcing an increase in the license and license renewal fees for massage therapists in Colorado:
Greetings from the Division of Professions and Occupations,