California

California Massage Therapy Council
One Capitol Mall, Suite 320
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-669-5336
Fax: 916-669-5337
Email: info@camtc.org

> Website

Voluntary Certification
Title: Certified Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: no CEU requirement/2 years

Regulation Type: 
State Certification

California COVID-19 State Update for Massage Therapists

RE: Information regarding your state's back-to-practice permission date and safety guidelines to minimize risk of exposure to, and spread of, COVID-19 in the workplace.

There has been confusion and conjecture about when massage therapists and licensed beauty professionals (including estheticians, cosmetologists, barbers, nail professionals, and electrologists) may resume business operations in California. Following is the latest information.

Changes to Employee/Independent Contractor Law in California

Earlier this year, the California Supreme Court issued a decision that will affect whether California workers are classified as employees or independent contractors. The case, Dynamex v. Superior Court of Los Angeles County, states that in order to classify a worker as an independent contractor, the person or business who hires the worker must prove all three of the following things: 

April 30, 2018 Meeting Regarding Massage Regulation in California

The California State Senate Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development is holding an information hearing, Update on Regulation of Massage Therapy in California: Business Oversight and Best Practices, on Monday, April 30, 2018, at 12:00 p.m. in Room 3191 of the State Capitol. (Please note the date change from the original announcement.) ABMP will be in attendance at the hearing and will be submitting written comments. There will be Public Comment at one to two minutes per individual if you would like to talk.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - California