The Alabama Board of Massage Therapy announced proposed rule amendments that affect the fee schedule and establishment licensure. Written comments are due by August 4, 2022.
Board of Massage Therapy
2777 Zelda Road
Montgomery, AL 36106
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 650 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB; liability insurance
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years
ABMP, ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted Alabama, from executive orders affecting business closures, to reopening protocols modifying practice procedures, to financial programs developed to aid the unemployed.
2014 Alabama House Bill 119, discussed in our previous legislative update, did not pass in the Alabama legislature in 2014, and was not reintroduced in the 2015 legislative session. We will keep our members apprised of any future legislation affecting massage therapists in Alabama.
Alabama House Bill 119 is currently pending in the Alabama State Senate. If passed by the legislature and signed by the Governor, the bill would make a number of changes to the Alabama Massage Therapy Licensure Act. Some of the most important changes would include: